Hey Andrew

Ed here….

People always ask us who certain songs are about, and while some are not directly about an actual person, some are.  “Hey Andrew” is a song off our second album, Vienna to Venice.  I often find myself fielding the question, “Just who is this Andrew character?”

Andrew is my grandfather on my mother’s side and he passed away when I was in college.  Much of my youth was spent hanging out at my grandparents house in the North Hills of Pittsburgh building radio controlled airplanes and playing Bocce (Italian lawn bowling).  Bocce, by the way, is an awesome sport!

Andrew was often a guiding figure in my life and I feel like I learned a good deal from him, and hopefully got some of his sense of humor.  This song just sort of came together when Ken and I were writing for V2V.  From what I remember we wrote it in an afternoon and the final version stayed true to our demo.  We play it every time we have a show in Pittsburgh and without fail my mom and grandmother cry.

Of my memories from childhood the most vivid are from annual family picnics at a farm in Zelienople, PA.  We would all get together and ride go-carts, fly planes and eat tons of food.  There was a small lake there with a dock that we would fish on and sometimes swim, when the water wasn’t totally disgusting.  This is where the line, “Cannonballs off the dock in the warm sun of May”, comes from.

Though he’s not with us anymore, it’s great to sing this song every night and think about the great times we had together.

hey andrew i miss you dearly
just thought you’d like to know
i’m seeing things more clearly
than i ever have before
and life’s taken more sincerely
not that anyone’s keeping score tonight
you gave me more than i had the right

i see you up ahead and i’m not far behind
i’ll cherish the times ziplocked in my mind
cannonballs off the dock
and i swear i’m fine
i swear i’m fine

your chair it holds your comfort
as i read here with your ghost
your fingers turn the pages
i can feel that you are close tonight
you gave me more than i had the right

i see you up ahead and i’m not far behind
i’ll cherish the times ziplocked in my mind
cannonballs off the dock
in the warm sun of may
and i swear i’m fine
i swear i’m fine

This entry was posted in Lyrics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hey Andrew

  1. oakandgorski says:

    My Dad called me today to correct my facts….Apparently the farm we used to frequent was in Mercer, PA not Zelienople.
    My bad…..haha

Leave a Reply

